Swindon Chess Club banner
Swindon Chess Club banner

Swindon Chess Club - History

In c 1900 a Swindon Chess Club was formed by Canon A. G. G. Ross (President of the B.C.F. 1921-1938) and based in the Mechanics Institute, Emlyn Square and formed part of the Wiltshire County Chess Association. Swindon won the WCCA trophy in 1934, 1935 & 1936.   After the war, many separate chess clubs were formed reaching a maximum of 16 in 1976, with Swindon winning the WCCA trophy 8 times between 1952 and 1963.  In 1973 one  club (captained by L.Taylor, now deceased) was part of Vickers Ltd. Sports & Social Club and won the WCCA trophy in 1978. It subsequently became the Supermarine Club in 1982. In 1995 the group decided to leave Supermarine and become independent, resurrecting the name of Swindon Chess Club in the process. For a while this club operated out of the Moose Hall, Eastcott Road and other venues, before moving to its current location in 2024.


The only remaining stalwart of the former Supermarine and now Swindon Chess Club is Richard Carver who was key to the creation and still is to the continued success of the club.

After some evolution the WCCA now comprises three Leagues, the Major, Intermediate and Minor with all Leagues eventually being 4-a-side. Swindon has entered teams in all of these.

In 2018,  R. Carver was elected to Vice President of the WCCA.


Swindon Chess Club won the  Minor League in 2016, 2017, 2021, 2022, 2023 and 2024.


Swindon Chess Club generally enters one or more teams in the Intermediate League depending on the number of players available. It has rarely failed to finish in the top two places and has won the title in : 2001, 2005, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 , 2021, 2022, 2023 and 2024. 


In 2018 Swindon Chess Club won the Major League for the first time.


From April 2020 to August 2021 the Club shut down, following Government advice on the Corona pandemic, but re-opened in time for the startof the 2021/22 winter season. 


Print | Sitemap
© Swindon Chess Club